Baby Sprints.

Photo by Procsilas Moscas, procsilas on flickr.com

Photo by Procsilas Moscas, procsilas on flickr.com

Today, a couple of colleagues and I decided to hustle to try to make it in time to see another colleague in the nearby courthouse.  “Let’s run!” said one, and I cringed.  “I’m fitter than I used to be, but I’m not that fit!” I said sheepishly.  And then I jogged across one street and then another, realizing as I got to the opposite corner that I wasn’t out of breath.  We then jog/walked up the big hill to the courthouse and I was completely out of breath, and bringing up the rear.  I flashed my ID at the door, and as I walked into the courthouse after my friends, still puffing, I grinned to myself.  Progress!

Sprinting across a couple of streets without being short of breath is new!

As I’ve said before, I love fitness I can see in the world much more than I love fitness I only display at Exercise O’Clock.  There’s something spectacular about realizing your body can do something it couldn’t before – something that’s a new tool you can use every day to enhance your life.

I can’t wait to be able to sprint all the way up that hill to the courthouse without huffing and puffing.

What real-world fitness achievement are you looking forward to?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Sprints.

  1. Christina says:

    That’s awesome! I agree that feeling is totally great. Even during gym workouts or yoga it’s so nice to notice that maybe you are more flexible or can up the intensity from what you were doing before!

Leave a Reply

